ATLAS

News: First hint of the Higgs boson particle

 

 

The ATLAS experiment is one of the four big experiments at the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) at CERN (Geneva, Switzerland). A collaboration of about 3000 scientists from all around the world aims at studying proton - proton collisions at very high energies and particle fluxes. New and exciting particles are to be discovered, deeper insight into the fundamental forces and structures of our universe to be gained. The experiment has been built and installed in Geneva in a joint effort over the last decade, has been thoroughly commissioned, and is capturing collison data since end of 2009.

The Mainz group aims at using data recorded by the ATLAS detector to resolve fundamental questions such as the nature of dark matter (search for Supersymmetry), the origin of electroweak symmetry breaking (discovery and study of the Higgs boson), and the quest for a unified theory of all interactions (detection of physics beyond the Standard Model).

We have made major contributions to detector and electronics design, in particular in the general area of the ATLAS Liquid Argon Calorimeter, as well as the readout and analysis infrastructure. Along with physics analyses, the Mainz group is currently working on the maintenance, optimization and further development of the high speed trigger electronics.

ATLAS

Das ATLAS - Experiment ist eines der vier großen Experimente am Beschleuniger Large Hadron Collider (LHC) im CERN (Genf, Schweiz). Eine Kollaboration von etwa 3000 Physikern aus der ganzen Welt untersucht damit Proton - Proton Kollisionen bei sehr hohen Energien und Teilchenflüssen, um neue und aufregende Teilchen nachzuweisen und tiefere Einsichten in die fundamentalen Kräfte und Strukturen unseres Universums zu gewinnen. Das Experiment wurde in gemeinsamer Anstrengung in mehr als 10 Jahren aufgebaut, sorgfältig in Betrieb genommen, und zeichnet nun seit Ende 2009 Kollisionsdaten auf.

Die Arbeitsgruppe in Mainz wird die Daten, die von Atlas aufgezeichnet werden, benutzen, um fundamentale Fragen zu klären wie zum Beispiel die Natur der dunklen Materie (Suche nach Supersymmetrie), den Ursprung der elektroschwachen Symmetriebrechung (Untersuchung des Higgs Bosons), und als langfristiges Ziel die vereinheitlichte Theorie aller Wechselwirkungen durch Nachweis von Physik jenseits des Standardmodells.  

Wir haben zum Design von Detektor und Elektronik wesentliche Beiträge geliefert, besonders zum ATLAS Flüssigargonkalorimeter, auch zur Auslese und zur Infrastruktur für die Analyse. Neben der physikalischen Analyse arbeitet die Mainzer Gruppe an der Wartung, Optimierung und Weiterentwicklung der schnellen Elektronik für den Trigger.

Kontakt Kontakt
Prof. Dr. Volker Büscher

Prof. Dr. Lucia Masetti

Prof. Dr. Stefan Tapprogge

Zum Inhalt der Seite springen Zur Navigation der Seite springen